Fire Emblem Fates Weapons Forging Guide – Weapons Overview, Tips

Fire Emblem Fates weapons no longer have any durability, and because of that, weapon forging is now a thing. Weapons forging can be a bit confusing, since the game doesn’t really explain how its done very well.

For more help on Fire Emblem Fates, read our Class Guide, MyCastle Guide and Fire Emblem Fates Builds Guide.

Fire Emblem Fates Weapons Forging

This guide goes through an overview of the weapons in the game, as well how forging works.

Fire Emblem Fates Weapons

Weapons in Fire Emblem Fates are Japanese and European weapons that parallel each other in some way. This means that units that can use a certain type of weapon can also use the opposing faction’s equivalent.

  • Sword <-> Katana
  • Lance <-> Naginata
  • Axe <-> Club
  • Dagger <-> Shuriken
  • Bow <-> Yumi
  • Tome <-> Scroll
  • Staves <-> Rods

The Norhians use the European weapons, while the Japanese weapons are used by the Hoshido.

The Japanese weapons tend to have stat modifiers when compared to the European counterparts. Most of these additional modifiers however come in pairs, with one increasing a specific stat while the other decreases a separate stat.

Each weapon in the game has its own stat that gives it its own unique characteristics. Be sure to reach each weapon’s description before deciding to invest gold in it.

Fire Emblem Fates Weapons Forging

Weapon durability is no longer a part of Fire Emblem in Fates, so Forging works in a different manner than its predecessors.

Players now have to forge weapons to ensure they stay relevant in the later stages of the game and during multiple battles. When forging, you will come across a screen that has several pieces of information.

Two similar weapons from the same weapon class are needed to be combined together while forging. The left side shows the Weapon Name, the center shows the Stock, and the right side shows the Ore.

The left side tells you whether or not you have the weapon required to forge an upgraded version, as well as who is carrying it (stock). The Ore section tells you the number of ores required to forge the selected weapon.

On the top right hand corner of the screen tells the how many ores you have. Each weapon type requires a different ore and a different smithy to construct.

Nohrian weapons (European) need a Norhian smithy to craft them, while Hoshido weapons (Japanese) require a Hoshido smithy.

Once you have selected the weapon to upgrade, you will need to choose a second weapon which you will use to forge the upgraded version. You will also have to select a source. The number beside the source name tells you how many that source is carrying.

Once you have decided the two weapons, you can press the A button. This will show a screen that summarizes everything you have chosen, and will also show the upgrades in the stats of the weapon as a result of the forge. Press Yes to forge the weapon.

Once you have forged a weapon, you can choose to name it whatever you like in the screen that follows.

If you wish to forge a new weapon with an already upgraded (previously forged weapon), you will need to first forge another upgraded weapon, then combine the two upgraded versions through forging.

Here are the ore type you will need for each weapon class:


  • Katana – Pearl
  • Club – Lapis
  • Naginata – Coral
  • Scroll – Amber
  • Yumi – Jade
  • Shuriken – Quartz


  • Sword – Crystal
  • Axe – Sapphire
  • Lance – Ruby
  • Tome – Topaz
  • Bow – Emerald
  • Dagger – Onyx

Haider is a freelance contributor, who loves video games, playing guitar, and aviation. He is a competitive FPS player and also enjoys exotic RPG games like Diablo and Xenogears (his favorite game of all time) ...