Rift (PC) Beginners Guide

Rift is a massively multiplayer online roleplaying game that puts you in the shoes of the legendary warriors in an epic battle against the darkest of evils to protect the land. Rift will feature an unprecedented level of rich and dynamic gameplay driven by recurring events, and unexpected challenges.

SegmentNext – Rift Guides

Rift Beginner’s Guide – This Page!
Rift Leveling Guide 1 – 50

Rift Beginner’s Guide walks you through every aspect of the game you need to know as you play the game for the first time.

Rift – Character Creation

You will be confronted with following choices as you create your first character in Rift. First off you need to decide which server you play in, you need to choose between PVE, PVP, and RP. RP is similar to PVE and PVP except you have to roleplay.

Rift – Faction Selection
You will given the choice to choose between two warring factions.

  • Defiant
  • Guardians

Each faction will have three different races. Factions determine your starting location and side of a Civil War. If you are planning to play with some friends choose same Faction and Race.

Rift – Races

Guardians Defiants
Dwarves Bahmi
High Elves Eth
Mathosian Kelari


Calling decides which abilities and strengths your character will have. There are Four Callings you can choose from.

  • Warrior
  • Cleric
  • Mage
  • Rogue

Each of above callings will have eight Souls (Classes).
Warrior Classes

  • Champion
  • Reaver
  • Paladin
  • Warlord
  • Paragon
  • Riftblade
  • Void Knight
  • Beastmaster

Cleric Classes

  • Purifier
  • Inquisitor
  • Sentinel
  • Justicar
  • Shaman
  • Warden
  • Druid
  • Cabalist

Rogue Classes

  • Nightblade
  • Ranger
  • Blade Dancer
  • Assassin
  • Riftstalker
  • Marksman
  • Saboteur
  • Bard

Mage Classes

  • Elementalist
  • Warlock
  • Pyromancer
  • Stormcaller
  • Archon
  • Necromancer
  • Dominator
  • Chloromancer

You can get the specifics about each class in game by holding CTRL and clicking on the icon of each class when you are to choose. Make sure you choose the appropriate class as per your gamestyle – once you have read the specifics about these, everything else is self explanatory.

In Rift souls are very dynamically available. Now you have almost created your character and you just have to make an Avatar for yourself and you are good to go.

The First Day

Now we are taking our character to the world of RIFT. You will spawn according to your faction and will be placed near your first quest giver which will have a green exclamation mark on him. The first quest will ask for selecting your Soul which is very important choice and this choice entirely relies on you, so select according to your gamestyle and likings.

Now you will see a new window called The Soul Tree, here you spend points to select abilities for your character.
Rift - Soul Tree

Soul Tree is divided into three parts.

  • Branches: Contains spells and abilities independent of anything
  • Roots: Contains abilities and behaviors according to your soul
  • Additional Souls: Additional souls to mix their abilities with your character to customize your character

You will complete your first quest by doing that.

Quest Area

Rift - Quest Maker
Another brilliant feature of the game as its ability to identify the quest area for you. The area you need to complete any quest you take in will be marked by light yellow circles and the quests will be marked by glowing icons.

I will explain Rifts, Dungeons, and PvP in our upcoming Rift (PC) Guides.

Contributor at SegmentNext.