Xbox Games Pass PC: Microsoft’s “Garrison” App is the Missing Piece of the Puzzle

For the past 5-6 years, Microsoft had been trying to get serious about PC gaming. Microsoft had multiple attempts to get it right via UWP and Games for Windows Live but nothing really managed to beat Steam. Then comes Xbox One and Microsoft had the smart idea to pair it with Windows 10.

For the past 2-3 years, Microsoft had been trying to figure out how to bring together Xbox and Windows 10 in a way that appeals to PC gamers. The company decided to bring numerous Xbox exclusive games to PC, started Xbox Play Anywhere Program, and has now announced Xbox Game Pass for PC.

Still, PC gamers aren’t interested in using the feature-less Windows 10 Store and finally, Microsoft got the message. Xbox Game Pass for PC will be the catalyst to something unique for PC gamers on Windows 10.

Microsoft is working on a new app called “Garisson.” According to reports, “Grassison” is how you possibly use Xbox Game Pass for PC. Microsoft’s  “Garrison” app is going to make it easier to play all of your Game Pass PC games in one place. Keep in mind right now there is no announced way to use Xbox Game Pass PC on Steam, and “Garrison” might be the missing piece of the puzzle of how exactly PC Games Pass works.

What Xbox Game Pass for PC needs is a way to bring all of your games under one experience and Windows Store isn’t cut out for it. Microsoft will take the stage at E3 2019 to possibly share more details about Game Pass PC.

Phil Spencer has talked about revamping the PC gaming through Windows 10 Store in the past. He isn’t pleased with how Windows 10 Store is handling it so “Garrison” might be the change we need.

Exactly what this new app is and how it ties into Xbox Games Pass for PC is expected to be revealed in the coming weeks.
Microsoft's E3 Press Conference

Xbox Game Pass was announced for PC last week and over the weekend we reported that it is part of the Xbox Games Pass Ultimate. Xbox Games Pass Ultimate brings together Xbox Live Gold and Game Pass. Instead of playing for two separate subscriptions players can pay for one.

Insider Brad Sams revealed that Microsoft plans to add Game Pass PC to Ultimate subscription. However, how players can access the standalone PC Game Pass remains to be seen.

Microsoft’s E3 2019 press conference is scheduled for June 9 at 1 PM PT/4 PM ET. Fans in the UK can watch the stream at 9 PM BST while those in Australia can tune in on June 10 at 6 AM AET.

Microsoft’s E3 2019 live stream will be held on Mixer, Twitch, and Facebook. Many major announcements are expected such new IPs, new gameplay videos, Xbox Anaconda and Lockhart discussion, and of course, the Game Pass.