A Brand New PlayStation Title Coming at State of Play, No PS5 Discussion

PlayStation announced yesterday that its next State of Play event is going to happen on May 9. The length of the live show will be around 10 minutes and will focus on showing a new look at the upcoming PS4 MediEvil remake, as well as a “brand new title”.

In a blog post made on the PlayStation website, social media director Sid Shuman announced the date and time for PlayStation’s next State of Play event.

“Hi, all! I’m excited to share that State of Play will return for a new episode next Thursday, 9th May at 11.00pm BST/midnight CEST. It’ll be a quick show (around 10 minutes), but we’ve got some PS4 updates we couldn’t wait to share with you.”

PlayStation fans have been expecting news regarding upcoming titles and the new PlayStation 5 but it seems the titles are the only thing Sony will be disclosing.

One note: Don’t expect any updates relating to our next-generation plans this time. Sorry!

Although this may disappoint a lot of fans who were expecting news regarding the PS5 such as a release date, PlayStation will be premiering a “brand new title” during this State of Play.

Right now, no one knows what this game will be. All we know is that it’s a new title, which means this game hasn’t been discussed before.

Shuman also said:

There’s lots more in store for State of Play: episode 3 will return later in the year with more news and updates from the world of PlayStation.

MediEvil fans will get an extended look at the upcoming MediEvil remake. The last time we got to see MediEvil was back in October 2018 with the announcement trailer. Since then we haven’t gotten to see more MediEvil gameplay.

PlayStation’s next State of Play Live Stream Event will be taking place at 3 PM PT / 6 PM EDT/ 11 PM BST / 8 AM May 10 AEST. Fans will be able to watch State of Play live on TwitchYouTubeTwitter, and Facebook, as usual.