scroll down

Square Enix Is No Longer Working On Go Mobile, Studio Head Patric Naud Says

In a recent interview, the studio head at Square Enix Patric Naud revealed that they are no longer working on the Go Mobile.

According to him, the premium mobile game market is very saturated and it is becoming increasingly difficult to see success in it. He said that this challenge has been under consideration for a long time now.

If anyone has played Enix’s Go Mobile titles they would agree that their Go titles are the ones that actually teach other developers, on how to make good mobile games. However, it seems like there will be no more Go Mobile games, at least not for now.

Naud said that the premium mobile game market is diminishing and the company does not see a clear purpose of investing time and money without it bearing success. You can understand Square Enix’s motive of success in this way that, while Hitman Go, Lara Croft Go and Deus Ex Go generated great revenues and even had good reviews, only small number of people played them.

With all that said, this also does not mean that the studio has entirely given up on mobile games. Naud actually wanted the studio to push for more innovative ideas, experiences, and this Go Mobiles did not seem to be the answer.

To be honest it is not to hard to see the picture which Naud has portrayed regarding the mobile games. Games like Fortnite that are free to play and provide a deep and innovative experience, it gets tough to compete in such environment.

Having said that said, the good news is, after 2 years in a row, Square Enix will be holding an E3 conference. They will hold their conference on June 11 at 10 AM PDT/ 1 PM EDT/ 6 PM BST.

So while a great many expectations are set for E3, what are you expecting from Square Enix at the press conference? Let us know in the comments below.

Source: pocketgamer