All-Star Cast Revealed for the Death of Superman Animated Movie

While the DC Extended Universe has been struggling to appease fans and critics, the DC Animated Universe has been enjoying a tremendous run for the past decade. DC Entertainment and Warner Bros. are now making way for another take on the Death of Superman that will be split into two parts, followed by Reign of the Supermen to conclude one of the best-received comic book arcs of all time.

According to an official announcement (via TV Insider) made earlier today, the Death of Superman will feature an all-star voice cast.

The lineup will see Jerry O’Connell (Billions) return to voice Superman for the fourth time, alongside his wife Rebecca Romijn (The Librarians) for Lois Lane. Rainn Wilson (The Office) will lend his voice for Lex Luthor, Rosario Dawson (Daredevil) for Wonder Woman, Nathan Fillion (Firefly) for Green Lantern, Christopher Gorham (Covert Affairs) for Flash, Matt Lanter (Timeless) for Aquaman, Shemar Moore (Swat) for Cyborg, and Jason O’Mara (Justice League Dark) for Batman.

When a hulking monster emerges from an underground resting place and begins a mindless rampage, the Justice League is quickly called in to stop the colossal force of nature. But it soon becomes apparent that only Superman can stand against the monstrosity that has been nicknamed Doomsday. Battling their way throughout America, the two fight to a standstill as they reach the heart of Metropolis. Going punch for punch, Superman finally ends the threat of Doomsday as he throws one last punch and collapses forever.

This will be the second time that the Death of Superman is receiving an animated movie adaptation, nearly a decade after Superman: Doomsday was released. The two-part take on the same arc should offer more for fans of the Kryptonian.

The Death of Superman will release this summer on Blu-ray, DVD, and digital downloads. Reign of the Supermen will arrive on the same formats early next year.