Watching the MCU Movies in Chronological Order Before Avengers: Infinity War

There is a substantial need to watch the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) in accurate chronological order before heading to theaters next month for the highly anticipated premiere of Avengers: Infinity War.

The impending invasion by Thanos and his Dark Order is a major point in the timeline that Marvel Studios has been steadily building towards ever since “Phase One” took off nearly a decade back. Hence, the upcoming movie has been in the making for a long time to culminate every single release that has graced the MCU to date.

There are eighteen movies in total after disregarding various television series that similarly connect in accordance with the timeline. While you can choose to watch them in the order that they were released in theaters, going through them all in chronological order would serve far better. This is because every single movie provides not only insight but also deeper understanding on how the different events line up like building blocks.

That being said, there is no denying that watching through all of the MCU movies (in a single sitting if possible) will take considerable time. However, take note that Avengers: Infinity Wars will open in theaters on April 27, 2018. This gives you ample time to dedicate a single evening to a single screening.

The following is how you should watch the MCU in chronological order to get ready before “Earth’s Mightiest Heroes” assemble for a third time.

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

There are also two more installments that take place before Avengers: Infinity War but are scheduled to release afterwards. This includes Ant-Man and the Wasp that is set right after Captain America: Civil War and will release on July 6, 2018. Then there is Captain Marvel that is set in the 1990s and will release on March 8, 2019.

Avengers: Infinity War will be the first of a two-part series. The untitled sequel, presently dubbed Avengers 4, is slated to premiere on May 3, 2019. It will mark the beginning of “Phase Four” that remains without any details for the time being.

has halted regime changes, curbed demonic invasions, and averted at least one cosmic omnicide; all from the confines of his gaming chair.