Flashpoint Directors Finally Confirmed for DCEU

The long-standing Flashpoint movie adaptation in the DC Extended Universe (DCEU) has officially found not one but two profound directors.

Taking to Twitter on the weekend, John Francis Daley confirmed that he will be joining forces with Jonathan Goldstein on the project. The screenwriters for Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017) have reportedly been in talks with Warner Bros. since January. The duo, known for their talent in the comedy category as well, took their sweet time to sign on the dotted line.

Flashpoint has already gone through a few directors. Seth Grahame-Smith was the first one to be attached to the project, followed by Rick Famuyiwa. They both made an early exit over creative differences. There was even a rumor that Ben Affleck was being courted to hop aboard as director but the Batman declined the offer.

Flashpoint was first released in 2011 by DC Comics and is an important event from the source materials. The Flash travels back in time to prevent the murder of his mother. The journey ends up altering the timeline and creating a new alternate reality that severely impacts many recognizable superheroes and supervillains in the future.

The movie adaptation in the DCEU is said to feature Captain Cold, Heatwave, and Killer Frost as some of the supervillains. Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot), Cyborg (Ray Fisher), and Batman (Ben Affleck) are rumored to be part of the story in some capacity. It is also believed that detective Jared Morillo and officer Fred Chyre will be playing supporting roles to help Barry Allen (Ezra Miller) investigate the death of Johnny Quick, the evil counterpart to the Flash in the Crime Syndicate’s universe.

Flashpoint was originally slated for a release in theaters on March 16, 2018, before mounting delays ended up wiping the slate with a vague 2020 release date.