scroll down

Hideo Kojima, Guillermo Del Toro And Norman Reedus Will Present At The Game Awards 2017

What is it that we want to see more in this year’s The Game Awards? Is it the newly come trailers? Is it the anxiety of the Game of the Year title? The truth is, most gamers are mostly focused right now on one thing, will Hideo Kojima be present to demonstrate Death Stranding? News are in, Kojima will not only be present but will present an award along with Guillermo del Toro and (supposedly) Norman Reedus.

According to Geoff Keighley, the producer of the annual awards show, Hideo Kojima and Guillermo del Toro will present a certain award on stage. Norman Reedus will also be present to present an award, so maybe all three will share the stage this time?

His first announcement came from a post on his personal Twitter account saying: “I’m happy to confirm Hideo is attending and will present an award with [del Toro] on Thursday night! You won’t want to miss it”. On a second post, he revealed that Norman Reedus will also present an award on Thursday.

Regarding Death Stranding, The Game Awards played a big role in the game’s reveals. The 2016 Game Awards had Kojima unveil a new Death Stranding trailer that showed that Mads Mikkelsen was in the game, but since then we’ve heard essentially nothing about it. Is it now the time to get a glimpse of its gameplay?

Recently Guillermo Del Toro has told IGN:

“In Death Stranding I’m just a puppet. I don’t know what he’s gonna make me do. He’s supposedly going to show me the gameplay at some point in the next couple of weeks.”

Does this mean that now is the time for some Death Stranding gameplay action? Or are the masterminds behind it once again teasing and playing games? That remains to be seen on The Game Awards stage on Thursday.

There’s no real indication of when Death Stranding will be releasing other than some time before the Tokyo Olympics, which will be happening in 2020. This means sometime within the next two years. The Game Awards 2017 kicks off on Thursday, December 7 at 5:30 pm PT / 8:30 pm ET (Friday, December 8 at 1:30 am UK / 12:30 pm AET).