2017 League of Legends All-Star Event begins in December with new format

A total of eight teams will be assembled to fight for the honor of their respective regions when the 2017 League of Legends All-Star Event takes place later this year.

According to the official announcement, the competitive proceedings will be hosted at the North American League Championship Series (NA LCS) studio in Los Angeles, California. Similar to before, the community will place their votes to decide which player gets to play in the five different roles. Only the top-voted individuals will come together to form one team for each of the eight regions. The nominees will be decided by Riot Games based on their performances in recent international tournaments.

The participating regions for this year:

  • China (LPL)
  • Europe (EU LCS)
  • Korea (LCK)
  • LMS (LMS)
  • North America (NA LCS)
  • Southeast Asia (GPL)
  • Turkey (TCL)
  • Brazil (CBLOL)

The 2017 League of Legends All-Star Event will feature a different format from last year. Instead of having each player participate in the one-versus-one segment, the coach of every team will choose two representatives for play. This should restrict the event from going any longer. In addition, the community will be able to vote for players in its own specific region.

“For this year’s clash of the titans we’re saying goodbye to the the unfettered mayhem and elemental battles – instead we’ll be hosting a dream team tournament with fan-voted rosters of pros from the top eight regional leagues,” Riot Games explained.

The 2017 League of Legends All-Star Event is scheduled to kick off on December 7. The voting polls should go live sometime next month, during which information regarding tickets will also be available.

Elsewhere, the 2017 League of Legends World Championship continues to run its course. There were a few hiccups along the way but the situation has bettered since then.