“Dota Pro Circuit” Officially Replaces the Yearly Dota 2 Competitive Seasons

In order to pursue further growth, the entire tournament setup of Dota 2 is undergoing an overhaul that was originally announced a couple of months back. Today, we come to know that the upcoming competitive seasons will be officially referred to as “Pro Circuit” from now on.

As was revealed previously, Dota 2 will now receive more tournaments than ever before. These will be split between Majors and Minors, with Valve working closely with third-party organizers such as Electronic Sports League (ESL) and DreamHack.

Majors must have a minimum prize pool of $500,000 and will receive an additional $500,000 boost from Valve. Minors on the other hand must have a minimum prize pool of $150,000 and will similarly receive an additional $150,000 sponsor.

According to the official website, the upcoming competitive season of Dota 2 will feature 11 Majors and 16 Minors in the Pro Circuit. This begins with the StarLadder i-League Invitational and PGL Open Bucharest as the first two Minor events, followed by an ESL Major next month.

Each will award qualification points that will go towards team slots at The International 8 next year. Majors will give away at least 1500 points in total, while Minors will give at least 300. Points are earned by the top three teams at each event.

Valve is also softening its stance over coaches. They will now be allowed to remain with their players for the duration of the drafting phase. However, they must leave the area once the game begins. This will be the first time that coaches will be communicating with their players during the drafting phase in the history of Dota 2.