scroll down

Overwatch World Cup 2017 Will Feature More Countries Based on Skill Rating

Blizzard is adjusting the qualification format of the Overwatch World Cup 2017 to allow teams from more countries to participate.

For the entire next month, Blizzard will be tracking the Skill Rating (SR) of the top 100 players from every country. Naturally, the country with the highest amount of skill will move its way to the top of the competitive ladder.

At the end of April, Blizzard will use the average ratings to identify the top 32 countries and then nominate local experts from each of them. These experts will include “analysts, coaches, statisticians, and other authorities” from the esports community. The players will then vote for three of them to represent their respective countries and be in charge of recommending rosters.

Following that, the newly formed 32 teams will then move to live qualifiers where they must battle in groups of eight for a shot at competing at BlizzCon 2017. Only two shall advance from each of the four group stage events.

“Be prepared to join us as we celebrate the spirit of competition with the Overwatch community around the world,” reads the announcement.

Last year, South Korea dominated the inaugural iteration of the World Cup to take home first place, with Russia finishing second and Sweden in third. As far as the community is concerned, there is confidence that South Korea will be successful in retaining its crown by winning the Overwatch World Cup 2017. Gong “Miro” Jin-hyuk, the MVP from last year’s tournament, has since then taken Lunatic-Hai to several high placings in South Korea’s APEX tournament.

Countries may begin grinding their Skill Rating but they’ll eventually have to face tough competition. For comparison sake, here are the current top five countries based on overall skill:

  1. South Korea
  2. China
  3. Unites States of America
  4. Sweden
  5. United Kingdom

More information regarding the Overwatch World Cup 2017 will arrive soon. In the mean time, familiarize yourself with the official website.