New League of Legends Game Mode Wants You to Please the Blood Moon

This year, League of Legends will be celebrating the arrival of the Blood Moon with a brand new game mode called Hunt of the Blood Moon.

According to the official announcement, Hunt of the Blood Moon is a take on the “classic Assassin Power Fantasy” and designed around fast-paced chaotic combat.

Two teams of assassins pursue the goal of gaining the Blood Moon’s blessing by sacrificing the opposition, in the process securing powers of a demon for brief periods. Each sacrifice made earns you the Blood Moon’s favor, which is measured by a point system. The first team to reach 300 points wins the game.

There are several ways to earn points in the new game mode. Here’s what you can sacrifice to the Blood Moon to gain her favor:

  • (5 Points) Enemy Champions: A no-brainer here.
  • (3 Points) Spirits of the Blood Moon: They passively pass through the jungle and are easy to bring down.
  • (30 Points) Demon Heralds: They periodically spawn in both Baron and Dragon pits but are extremely tough to bring down.

Furthermore, killing three enemy players without dying will bestow the “demon brand” on your champion. The buff lasts for only 45 seconds but gives an insane amount of movement speed. It also turns you invisible, which breaks away upon the first strike (deals 20 percent of the target’s maximum health in true damage).

Hunt of the Blood Moon will take place on a different Summoner’s Rift. The Blood Moon-themed map comes packed with demon gates, crimson-hued landscape, new sound effects, and an eerie atmosphere; all to go with a brand new lineup of Blood Moon champion skins.

Finally, Hunt of the Blood Moon is the first-ever game mode in League of Legends which will restrict players to a predefined pool of champions:

  • Ahri
  • Akali
  • Camille
  • Diana
  • Ekko
  • Elise
  • Evelynn
  • Fizz
  • Kassadin
  • Katarina
  • Kennen
  • Kha’Zix
  • Leblanc
  • Lee Sin
  • Pantheon
  • Rengar
  • Shaco
  • Talon
  • Yasuo
  • Zed