Koreans Not Happy With Overwatch APEX Season 2 Groups

Groups for the highly anticipated Overwatch APEX Season 2 were released over the weekend by South Korean esports broadcaster OGN.

Divided into four groups, a total of 16 teams will be competing for a share of the $180,000 prize pool this week. However, the Korean community is not too happy with the seeding process. Many have voiced concerns over how unbalanced the groups are for the second season of Overwatch APEX.

Majority of the best Overwatch teams from Korea have been placed into Group B, making it the group of death as all four teams are highly skilled. While the Korean community was hoping to see more of its favorite teams advance in the tournament, only one team shall qualify from the initial group stages.

On the other hand, Team EnVyUs is placed in an easier group in comparison. The top ranking Overwatch team from the west recently won both the Overwatch Apex Season 1 and MLG Las Vegas Overwatch tournament, showcasing sheer dominance in the latter by refusing to drop a single game. It’s clearly the strongest team in Group A and is likely to make it out with ease.

The Korean community is not too thrilled to see its favorite local teams bundled in the same group while Team EnVyUs gets an “easy ride” through the second season.

That being said, Afreeca Freecs Blue managed to evade the group of death by finding itself in Group C. The Korean Overwatch team may have suffered a major defeat in the last season, but has since then undergone significant roster changes. On paper, Afreeca Freecs Blue boasts tremendous strength in players such as Kim “Mano” Dong-gyu. It may very well qualify from its group and give Korea a chance at reaching the grand finals.

Group A

  • MVP Infinity
  • Team EnVyUs
  • Meta Athena
  • BK Stars

Group B

  • LW Blue
  • Misfits
  • Lunatic-Hai
  • AF.Red

Group C

  • Conbox Spirit
  • Cloud9
  • Team KongDoo Uncia
  • AF.Blue

Group D

  • Team KongDoo Panthera
  • Fnatic
  • RunAway
  • Flash Lux

Overwatch APEX Season 2 is scheduled to commence on January 17.