Mortal Kombat X Trailer Introduces Faction Wars and Dynamic Towers

NetherRealm Studios and Warner Bros. recently released a behind-the-scenes Mortal Kombat X footage, showing off the evolution of the franchise in addition to a meta-game called Faction Wars.

After running Mortal Kombat X, the first thing that you will be required to do is to pick one out of five factions:

  • The Brotherhood of Shadows
  • Special Forces
  • Black Dragon
  • White Lotus
  • Lin Kuei

‘Faction Wars’ is being described as a ‘persistent meta-game’ which builds off the core game. Every action (including challenges, playing story mode, and defeating players of other factions) of a player will contribute to his/her faction.

Every week, a new war among all the factions will start and by the end of that week, a winner will be determined. In addition to this, players will also be able to rank up in their factions and earn in-game rewards. Lastly, each week, the whole faction system will be invaded by other powerful realms for 24 hours.

Check out the video above and share your impressions with us in the discussion box below.

Mortal Kombat X is slated to launch for Microsoft Windows, Playstation 4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, and Playstation 3 on Apr. 14, 2015.