EA Access Subscription For Xbox One Revealed, Here’s All The Info You Need

By   /   Jul 29, 2014

Publisher Electronic Arts, commonly known as EA, has announced EA Access for Xbox One, a subscription service that allows users to play some of its games in a rental system. This would cost $4.99 for a month, with subscriptions for a year going up to $29.99.

EA describes its catalog of playable titles as The Vault. EA Access will start with the inclusion of FIFA 14, NFL 25, Battlefield 4 and Peggle 2.

That’s actually not a bad selection, certainly not for people who aren’t sure if they should end up paying for the latest iteration of their sports franchise. Note, however, that Titanfall has already been stated to be excluded from EA Access in its fine print.

Additional incentives include a 10% discount on EA content, such as games and in-game currency. You’d also be able to start playing some games up to five days sooner than others.

Right now, upfront downloads with the membership will include Madden NFL 15, NHL 15, FIFA 15, NBA LIVE 15 and Dragon Age: Inquisition. More titles are said to come.

Early access of EA Access, which is a confusing phrase, will be different for each title. According to a FAQ, some games will offer a part of their release, while other will straight up launch the full thing ahead of time. All data will then be carried over to the full launch.

You’ll need to download the EA Access Hub app on Xbox Live to be able to attain a membership for Xbox One. Stores like GameStop in North America or GAME in the UK will also sell memberships.

EA Access is in Beta now and will roll out this summer. These are the eligible countries that will receive the program first:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

This rental system is similar to what Playstation Plus does for its entire platform. EA Access is a little more narrowed down, but it’s not that bad of a start.

Featured Videos