Dota 2: The International 4’s New Format Detailed

By   /   Jun 17, 2014

Valve has revealed that this year’s installment of Dota 2’s The International will feature an entirely new format.

Previously the tournament featured two-group round-robin phases. This year though there will be a single 16-team round-robin stage followed by two days of playoffs that will determine which teams make it to the main event.

With the regional qualifiers completed, 19 teams will now be heading to Seattle for the playoffs which will have three stages.

Phase One will pit the four qualifier runner-ups against each other in a best of three match. The winning team will proceed to Phase Two, while the remaining three teams will be eliminated.

In Phase Two, a 16-team group stage will take place where each team will play a best-of-one match against everyone. The top two teams from here will advance to the Upper Bracket of the Main Event, eight teams will move to the third playoff stage and six teams will be eliminated. It will take place from July 9th through July 12th, with over 120 matches being played in the span of four days.

Phase Three will feature the lower brackets in a double-elimination format. Teams here will have to keep winning to proceed higher. Each day will see to three matches in total. The losers of the first match of each day will be eliminated, while the losers of the second and third match will be placed in the Lower Bracket of the Main Event. The winner of the third match of each day will be seeded directly to the Upper Bracket of the Main Event. The third stage will take place from July 13 through July 14th. All the matches are best-of-three.

The new format introduced this year demands every team to bring their best from the get go. The notion of ‘survival of the fittest’ will guarantee a fierce competition this year for all Dota 2 lovers.

Source Dota 2

Featured Videos