Destiny Alpha Character and Weapon Upgrades Guide

By   /   Jun 13, 2014

Upgrading your character and abilities in Bungie’s FPS MMO, Destiny is no rocket science once you get hold of things. Still, those of you who are looking for a precise and clearer guide, this is the place.

One thing which is worth noting is that the game is still in its Alpha phase and is prone to change before the final version!

Anyway, anytime during the game, you can press the Options Button and it will lead you straight to your Character Menu showing your character, its level, its defense, armor, and selected weapon.

Destiny Alpha Character and Weapon Upgrades

In this guide, I’ll be breaking down each section of the Character Menu to tell exactly how it works:

Skill Tree
In the top-left of your screen, you’ll see your Character Upgrade Menu detailing your character’s Class and Focus. Clicking this option will take you inside the Skill Tree detailing your characters’:

Armor – Recovery – Agility

Needless to say, but the Skill Tree will be different for each Class (Hunter, Titan, and Warlock). Upgrading any skill out of the Skill Tree will have its corresponding effect on your character’s three attributes, mentioned above.

Each skill will provide you with a brief overview of what it will do and how to use it effectively. Just like any traditional MMO, fully upgrading a skill will unlock its subsequent skills. Once a skill is fully upgraded, you won’t be able to upgrade it any further.

A fully upgraded skill is displayed as a color-filled circle while a skill which has not been upgraded is shown with a colored-outline around it.

Primary Weapons
Primary Weapons that you will pick up during Missions will be displayed under this Primary Weapons Tab. Highlighting a weapon will show its overall Attack Points along with attributes like:

  • Impact
  • Range
  • Stability
  • Reload
  • Rate of Fire
  • Magazine

Players can equip any weapon or discard as per their preference.

Secondary Weapons
This is pretty straightforward! This tab. will show all your Secondary Weapon which can be equipped or discarded just like Primary Weapons. Similar to Primary Weapons, these weapons are also picked up during Missions.

Heavy Weapons
I have yet to unlock Heavy Weapons; therefore, I cannot say how exactly these guns perform, but I’m guessing these would some kind of launchers of take out enemy vehicles.

Character Menu’s right side is solely dedicated to Armor and all constituents that make up the Armor. Your Defense will be represented in numbers based on individual parts. The constituents of your Armor are:

  • Helmet
  • Gauntlets
  • Chest Armor
  • Leg Armor
  • Scarf

Your Armor not only increases your Defense, but also affects your Primary Weapon’s attributes. For example, Sinna Jaguar 2.1 Gauntlets increase your Intellect by +4 and increased Reload Speed for Pulse Rifles.

Just like Primary/Secondary Weapons, you can equip or discard any Armor piece as per your will.

I have yet to find the use of Ghost, but according to Destiny Wiki, Ghost is:

Bungie confirmed that the Ghost is the Guardian’s flying companion, accompanying the Guardian everywhere and able to access Golden Age technology.

The purpose of vehicles is pretty simple! Each vehicle in this section will have its own Durability which will determine how quickly it can be taken out. Along with this, you will also get to choose your Ships and Armor Shaders.

Once again, I have yet to discover the purpose of Armor Shaders, but if you know how they work, let me know in the comments below and I’ll add it in the guide!

The last section in Character Menu is your Emblem. You will have access to a wide arsenal of Emblems which will appear on your Character Card along with your Character Level. Emblems serve no other purpose than just showing off.

That’s pretty much all I have on Destiny’s Character Upgrade Guide! If you have any questions, let me know in the comments below!

Featured Videos