scroll down

2014 Unity Awards Now Accepting Public Submissions

Unity Technologies, the company behind the popular engine, has opened up its 2014 Unity Awards to public submissions. It will remain open until June 30, 2014.

While the Unity Awards already have a community choice segment, this year’s nominations will all become part of the public’s attention. Including the former category, there are nine awards in total, which we’ll list below.

  • Best 3D Visual Experience
  • Best 2D Visual Experience
  • Best Gameplay
  • Best VizSim Project
  • Best Non-game Project
  • Best Student Project
  • Technical Achievement
  • Community Choice
  • Golden Cube

Community votes will count for 50 percent of the votes. Others will still be in the hands of unity employees themselves, which will also go through numerous nominations to pick out six finalists for each category.

Projects eligible for participation must be produced between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014. Projects from former Unity Awards can’t participate, with the exception of student ventures transition to commercial release.

As a clever clarification towards the current trend of pre-releases, the rules also state that any game currently in any early access program is ineligible. So, no voting on the dozen Steam Early Access games you currently like.

Of course, submissions have to be made with the Unity engine, should that need pointing out.

At the 2013 Unity Awards, 4X strategy game Endless Space managed to take the highest honors. Currently, developer Amplitude Studios has two other games tied to the Endless lore in Early Access, namely Endless Legend and Dungeon of the Endless.