PlayStation Awards 2013 Winners Announced, GTA 5 Takes the Crown

Sony Computer Entertainment Japan has announced the winners to this year’s PlayStation Awards 2013 and it really isn’t a surprise seeing Grand Theft Auto V taking home the crown.

The awards, based on Japanese sales figure between November 1, 2013 and October 31, 2013, are divided in two major categories. Platinum is the highest tier and is rewarded to the title that has shipped over one million units. That includes both digital and physical releases. The Gold tier comes next and is rewarded to all those titles that have shipped over 500,000.

Platinum Prize

  • Grand Theft Auto V (Take-Two Interactive)

Gold Prize

  • Call of Duty: Black Ops II (Square Enix)
  • Dragon’s Crown (Atlus)
  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: All Star Battle (Namco Bandai)
  • Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Konami)
  • One Piece: Pirate Warriors 2 (Namco Bandai)
  • Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 (Konami)
  • Tales of Xillia 2 (Namco Bandai)
  • Yakuza 5 (Sega)

User Choice Prize

  • Beyond: Two Souls (SCEJ)
  • Dragon’s Crown (Atlus)
  • Grand Theft Auto V (Take-Two Interactive)
  • Killzone: Mercenary (SCEJ)
  • The Last of Us (SCEJ)
  • The Legend of Heroes: Sen no Kiseki (Falcom)
  • Persona 4 Golden (Atlus)
  • Soul Sacrifice (SCEJ)
  • Tomb Raider (Square Enix)
  • Toukiden (Tecmo Koei)

Special Prize (awarded to titles that represent originality and influence)

  • Cytus Lambda (Rayark)
  • Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (Square Enix)
  • Phantasy Star Online 2 (Sega)

Source: SCEJ