Black Ops 2: Treyarch Details Level Progression

With the release date of Black Ops 2 in sight, game design director from Treyarch, David Vonderhaar took to the community forums and talked about the game’s development.

Vonderhaar stated that Black Ops 2 will have 55 levels that will need to be unlocked by players.

The total amount of XP is very similar to the amount needed to prestige in World at War and Modern Warfare 1. I’d say it’s easier to level up, because you earn more XP than ever before with our Medals, Challenges we make available to you, as well as the leveling up guns themselves which grant bonus XP.

Upon reaching level 4, players will be able to Create a Class; plus they will have 4 tokens to use (1 token unlocks per level).

Here’s a look at what players will be able to equip for free at level 4.

  • 1 Assault Rifle
  • 1 SMG
  • 1 LMG
  • 1 Shotgun
  • 1 Sniper Rifle
  • 1 Perk from each of the 3 perk categories
  • 1 lethal grenade
  • 1 tactical grenade/equipment

Reaching Level 5: You’ll unlock a perk.
Reaching Level 6: You’ll get equipment.
Reaching Level 7: You’ll unlock a Score-Streak. (3 will be available for free while you can unlock three more)
Reaching Level 8: You’ll unlock another perk.
Reaching Level 9: You’ll unlock a new Score-Streak.

Players will settle into a pattern when they reach level 10. Vonderhaar explained:

Their are exceptions, but the pattern is generally like this. At every major rank change, which is every 3 levels, we give you a gun and usually “something else” as a bonus for reaching a major rank change.

This pattern then repeats through all 55 levels with some minor statistical variations or bonuses when they make sense and because they math can’t be perfect.

Does the level progression excite you enough to have you buy Black Ops 2?