scroll down

Metal Gear Online Closing its Doors

Metal Gear Online
Konami has just announced that they’re shutting down the servers for Metal Gear Solid 4’s online component, Metal Gear Online after four years of service.

The game’s server shutdown will happen in waves and has been detailed by Konami. The publisher is also giving away expansion packs and other items for free.

March 21st 2012 16:00 (JST) (2am central daylight time)

  • Closure of MGO Online Shop.

April 24th 2012 18:00 (JST) (4am central daylight time)
(Note: Registration for new player characters will not be available during this time)

  • Expansion packs and Preset Codec Message Appeal Packs will be available for free download.
  • Reward shop equipment will be available for free. (* With the exception of “non-sale” items.)

June 12th 2012 23:59 (JST) (9:59am central daylight time)

  • End of online service

If you’re one of the few who’s still playing the game online, I suggest getting as much time in as possible before its June shutdown date. Who knows when we’ll get the chance to play online as Snake again.

Source: GameInformer