Mortal Kombat 2011 – Characters, Story, Gameplay and Stages

Mortal Kombat is back and those who had a chance to play the game would know about the improvements made in gameplay of the latest installment in the series. In this article, I aim to list down everything you would want to know about the game, EVERYTHING.

Character’s Roster

Following characters have been confirmed so far:

  • Liu Kang
  • Scorpion
  • Sonya Blade
  • Johnny Cage
  • Kano
  • Raiden
  • Sub-Zero
  • Cyrax
  • Sektor
  • Kung Lao
  • Mileena
  • Kitana
  • Ermac
  • Reptile – Unmasked version.
  • Stryker
  • Kombat 3.
  • Baraka
  • Jade
  • Jax Briggs
  • Kabal
  • Quan Chi
  • Nightwolf
  • Noob Saibot
  • Shang Tsung
  • Kratos (PS3 exclusive)

Yes, there must be something for Xbox 360 but nothing has been confirmed so far. Rumors are there, that the exclusive Xbox 360 character will be from Gears of War series. Seems logical but I still find it hard to believe since there is so much hype about Kratos being featured in the game and there is nothing about the Gears except for some small hunches. Rest of the roster is full of classy warriors which with all new combat system ready to conquer the world realm.


Since many classic characters from the previous installments of the series have been included, the story primarily reproduces the past events. In one of the interviews, Ed Boon describes Mortal Kombat’s plot:

Raiden is about to be killed by Shao Kahn, and just before he delivers the last blow, he [Raiden] sends a mental message to his earlier self, and the camera rewinds back to Mortal Kombat 1. The Raiden from Mortal Kombat 1 then gets the message and experiences a premonition. The game then spans Mortal Kombat 1, 2, and 3, retelling the story with an enlightened Raiden who has changed the course of events. Eventually, everything you’ve seen happen before – Liu Kang winning, the guys turning into cybernetic ninjas, has been altered. You might see a cybernetic character who wasn’t before, and a different version of events.


Game’s combat system has been changed. 2D plane is back which actually restores fast and unpredicted combat experience. Instead of low and high punches with kicks, there is a separate button for each limb helpful in executing various combos. There is no “run” button but the players will be able to dash towards the opponents and use different combos.

The bar at the bottom of the screen is filled up as you perform attacks on your opponent. Using this gauge, you can use three different abilities – Enhanced moves, Breakers and X ray attacks. Enhanced moves are ultra forms of special attacks inflicting more damage to the opponent.

These moves utilize one bar of the meter. If you been corned by your opponent, Breakers can be used to break through enemy’s attacks. X ray moves will be more devastating and will consume the complete gauge just like the super moves in many other fighting games.

Fatalities are more intense and gruesome. To use the fatalities, just like in the previous games, you will have to press buttons in a series. Buttons for each particular fatality can be seen from the pause menu. Cutting your opponent into two halves sounds great. Isn’t it? 4 player tag matches have also been introduced for the first time in the series.

Modes (Mini Games)

If you are looking for something different apart from the basic combat line for each character, there are some other modes that should keep you engaged.

In Test Your Might, you will have to smash button as fast as you can to destroy the objects increasing in thickness. In Test Your Sight, you need to keep your focus on one object while it is being shuffled from one position to another. The objects this time are different parts of human head.

Test Your Strike is about keeping your attack power within a specific zone. In Test Your Luck, a slot reel will determine the sort of battle you are going to be indulged in. In Challenge Tower, you will be completing a series of 300+ challenges of versatile nature.

The Stages

Following stages are featured in the game:

  • The Pit II
  • Kahn’s Coliseum
  • The Living Forest
  • The Dead Pool
  • The Armory
  • The Bell Tower
  • The Cathedral
  • The Courtyard
  • Evil Monastery
  • Goro’s Lair
  • The Graveyard
  • The Desert
  • Hell
  • The Rooftop
  • Shang Tsung’s Gardens
  • Shang Tsung’s Flesh Pits
  • Shao Kahn’s Throne Room
  • Soul Chamber
  • The Street
  • The Subway
  • Throne Room
  • Training Room

Fatal traps in this game will appear on Fatality Activation. The Street, The Subway, Hell, The Dead Pool, The Pit II and The Living Forest are the maps with these traps.

If you are playing the demo, you may want to take a look at our Mortal Kombat 2011 Character Fatalities Guide.