Shortlist Of 2018 World Video Game Hall Of Fame Revealed, 12 Games For Hall Of Fame

The international hall of fame in which if a video game meets certain requirements joins the World Video Game Hall of Fame status. This year’s Games For Hall Of Fame list has been revealed and among many other games Metroid, Half-Life, Tomb Raider and Call of Duty have also made it.

This year’s world video game hall of fame is organized by The Strong National Museum of Play in Rochester, New York.

Twelve games are up for consideration this year, which include consoles, computers, and arcade titles. You can view the full list below.

  • Asteroids
  • Call of Duty
  • Dance Dance Revolution
  • Final Fantasy 7
  • Half-Life
  • John Madden Football
  • King’s Quest
  • Metroid
  • Minecraft
  • Ms. Pac-Man
  • Spacewar!
  • Tomb Raider

These 12 finalists span decades, gaming platforms and countries of origin they all have one thing in common and that is their undeniable impact on the gaming world and popular culture.

The criteria for the selection of the game that warrant Hall of fame status, according to its website, look for three fundamental attributes; icon-status, longevity, and geographical reach.

By longevity what they mean is that the game should be more than a passing phase but rather has enjoyed popularity over time. Iconic status means that the game is widely recognized and remembered and by geographical reach; the game meets the requirement for international reach.

If a game meets all three requirements then it lands on the list. Be that as it may, the list of 12 games that have been finalized are those games that actually meet all of the above-mentioned requirements.

Metroid, Half-Life, Tomb Raider and Call of Duty have had a lot of popularity, success and the recognition of all four are global. It would not be a surprise if any of these finalists, land as the Games For Hall of Fame 2018 inductees.

That said the World Video Game Hall of Fame 2018 inductees will be announced on May 3.