Overwatch Double XP Weekend Will Conclude Anniversary Event

By   /   Jun 7, 2017
Overwatch

The festive period of the first anniversary of Overwatch is about to come to an end, but not before hosting a surprise Double XP weekend for the community.

As expected, experience gained during the weekend will be doubled for players across all three platforms. The bonus will apply to nearly all sources through which players get experience; including time spent in a match, completing a match, completing consecutive matches, winning a match, backfilling a match in progress, and earning medals. The only experience it will not affect is the first win of the day bonus, which will remain at 1500 XP.

“This bonus experience period begins in all regions across all platforms on Thursday, June 8 at 5:00 p.m. PDT (or Friday, June 9 at 00:00 UTC) and ends on Monday, June 12 at 11:59 p.m. PDT (or Tuesday, June 13 at 06:59 UTC),” reads the announcement.

The ongoing Anniversary event is scheduled to conclude on June 12. It features more than a hundred new items to gain, ranging from sprays to icons and voice lines to emotes. The event also marks the largest release of legendary skins in the game’s history.

The upcoming Double XP weekend gives players the opportunity to grind additional loot boxes, and in turn unlock more of that special content. Keep in mind that all of the new loot is locked to the ongoing Anniversary event. This means that the only other time Blizzard will bring it back is next year for the second anniversary of Overwatch.

Featured Videos