Project Spark Servers Are Shutting Down Today on All Platforms

By   /   Aug 12, 2016
Project Spark

Microsoft has confirmed that Project Spark servers are shutting down today on Xbox One, Windows 8.1, and Windows 10.

Originally announced back at Microsoft’s E3 2013 media briefing, Project Spark is a digital canvas that can be used in order to create games, movies, and other experiences. Players can also download experiences created by community, remix them, and share them with the online community.

Project Spark Servers Shutting Down on Xbox One, Windows 8.1, and Windows 10

Although the whole idea seemed pretty cool initially, it never worked for Microsoft – despite the company’s efforts to keep it alive. Last year, Microsoft decided to make Project Spark along with its DLCs free for everyone and even issued refunds.

However, even that did not work and the company announced earlier this year that the servers would be shutting down in August 2016. Now we know that Project Spark servers are going to shut down today at 05:00 PM Eastern, 04:00 PM Central, and 02:00 PM Pacific on Xbox One, Windows 8.1, and Windows 10.

The game was removed from Microsoft’s Xbox Store back on May. 13, 2016, but that did not cause players playing the game any issues whatsoever!

Do note that despite shut down, players will still be able to play the game in its most basic state. The game’s Achievements (sorry Achievement Hunters) and community-created creations will no longer be accessible. However, all content already downloaded will still be accessible.

Did you get a chance to try out Microsoft The game was removed from Microsoft’s Project Spark? Do not forget to share your impressions with us in the comments section below!