Everything We Know About Watch Dogs 2: New Protagonist, Release Date, Setting

By   /   Jun 7, 2016
Watch dogs 2 PC

Watch Dogs 2 is going to be revealed on June 8 and its release date was leaked earlier thanks to a promotional banner posted over at IGN.

The title will also feature a new protagonist, a new setting and will try attempt to overcome the shortcomings of Watch Dogs.

New Protagonist

The lead character of the game is yet unnamed but yesterday a teaser video confirmed that we won’t be seeing Aiden Pearce this time around. It looks like Ubisoft is using an Assassin’s Creed like formula for Watch Dogs where each installment will have its own new lead.

Motion Capture leak gave us a look at the character and his attire which are very different from Aiden.

Setting

In Watch Dogs 2 we are heading to San-Francisco, Ubisoft already confirmed this a while back and the banner leak showed the famous San-Francisco bridge as well. Presumably, the open world will be bigger than Watch Dog’s Chicago setting thanks to the added power to PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. Ubisoft won’t be releasing Watch Dogs 2 for PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 this time around.

Release Date

Watch Dogs 2 is releasing on November 15 of this year reportedly. It is replacing Assassin’s Creed which is taking a year off. It is believed that Ubisoft will shift between Watch Dogs and Assassin’s Creed every year to give room to developers to improve each title.

World Premier

Watch Dogs 2 will be showed on June 8, ahead of Ubisoft’s E3 2016 press event. Here are the timings for its worldwide reveal:

World times:

  • 6 pm CEST time
  • 9 am Pacific time
  • 12 pm Eastern time
  • 12 am East Asian time

Ubisoft’s E3 press event will kick off the preshow at 12:30PM PST June 13th, before the main event commences at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST.

Featured Videos