Splatoon Beta Hitting Wii U This Weekend

By   /   May 8, 2015
Splatoon

The japanese gaming giant, Nintendo, has announced its plans to hold an open beta for Splatoon on Wii U.

The beta will take place tomorrow,May 9th, and is being called a “Global Testfire Demo.” We shouldn’t consider this as a proper beta because, as we know, the primary purpose of a beta is to get feedback from fans for the development of the game.

In this case, Splatoon is almost complete so fan feedback won’t have any impact on its development. The event is being held to stress-test servers before the release of Splatoon later this month.

Splatoon beta is available to download from the Nintendo eShop. Players can engage is 4v4 online multiplayer for three hours. Servers will go up for 1 hour periods:

North America Schedule

May 8 from 8:00 – 9:00 PM PT (11:00 – Midnight ET)
May 9 from 4:00 – 5:00 AM PT (7:00 – 8:00 AM ET)
May 9 from Noon to 1 PM PT (3:00 – 4:00 PM ET)

European Schedule (UK time)

May 9 from 04:00 – 05:00
May 9 from 12:00 – 13:00
May 9 from 20:00 – 21:00

Australia Schedule

Saturday May 9th – 13:00-14:00
Saturday May 9th – 21:00-22:00
Sunday May 10th – 05:00-06:00

Splatoon is hitting the Wii U on May 29 and after its release, a selection of free downloadable content will be offered including weapons, a new mode and more.

During the beta, players are only able to take part in a mode called “Turf War.” According to Nintendo:

Two stages are refreshed every four hours, meaning players will have to carefully consider weapons and tactics for the stages on hand. Different weapons work better in different stages, so players will discover depth in the weaponry as they focus their strategies on different two-stage pairings. After each four-on-four match, players are randomly reshuffled to form new teams, so sometimes players will be working with their friends and other times they’ll be looking to take them down.

Head over to the eShop and download the special demo to indulge in the colorful world of Splatoon.  For more on the game, stay-tuned.

Featured Videos