Sony Confirms That Developers Can Choose to Disable PS4 Share Play

By   /   Nov 6, 2014

Sony has issued an official statement to confirm that developers can choose to disable PlayStation 4 Share Play on their games.

The newly launched PlayStation 4 feature allows players to share their purchases with a second user, who can then enjoy the item remotely even if they don’t own the game to begin with. Through this service, the second user can then play the game for a whole hour as long as the original host is present.

However, with the recent release of Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, many PlayStation 4 users reported that the functionality has been disabled.

Attempting to use Share Play gives players the following error message: “The host’s game screen is not displayed because the current scene is a blocked scene for Share Play. Wait until the blocked scene is finished.”

The blocked scene option was put in place by Sony to have developers disabled Share Play for specific scenes that may give away major spoilers. Sledgehammer Games however stretched that to their entire title.

Here’s what Sony has said regarding the matter:

“Share Play is a system level feature enabled by System Software Update 2.0 making it available for all PS4 titles, however the option is available to developers to disable the feature according to what they feel will best benefit the consumer experience.”

Activision has still to comment on the news but there’s always the chance that it enables the feature somewhere down the line.