DDoS Attacks Claimed to Have Taken Down PSN Earlier Today

By   /   Aug 24, 2014

This week has left game developers pulling their hair out in frustration over waves of DDoS attacks on their servers.

A couple of days ago we reported that the attacks have already hit several popular online titles, including RuneScape, EVE Online, Guild Wars 2, League of Legends, Path of Exile and HearthStone.

Today the PlayStation Network went offline, after which a group called @LizardSquad claimed responsibility of choking the servers through DDoS attacks.

“Sony, yet another large company, but they aren’t spending the waves of cash they obtain on their customers’ PSN service. End the greed,” reads a Tweet by the group.

While the PSN Status is currently green, an added note does say that Sony is “aware that some users are experiencing difficulty enjoying the PSN.” The message further states that if users are still finding trouble in connecting to the PSN, they should contact their internet service providers.

If you’re unable to login then it’s highly unlikely that the fault lies with your ISP. DDoS attacks hit servers with an unusually large amount of queries which goes beyond its capacity to handle. Hence, the servers then crash, shuts down, or become jittery in their service.

All developers of the respective hit games have stated this week that they are going to be taking necessary precautions against future attacks.

Note that the PlayStation Network will be taken offline on Monday between 9.40 PT / 12.40 ET / 17.40 GMT until 16.50 PT / 19.50 ET on Monday / 00.50 GMT on Tuesday August 26 for a scheduled maintenance.

According to Sony, this might take some additional time.

Featured Videos

Hot Right Now

Next Batman Arkham

Next Batman Arkham Could be Batman Arkham Insurgency, Announcement in March?

Warner Bros. is about to make an important announcement on March 8, 2017. There's no official...

by   /   Feb 25, 2017
AMD Ryzen CPU

The AMD Ryzen CPU Hits The Right Marks, Just Needs Right Price

The AMD Ryzen CPU was demoed recently and what a demo it was. AMD showed that the upcoming AMD...

by   /   Dec 15, 2016
Death Stranding leak

New Death Stranding Leak Revealed The Name Of Norman Reedus’ Character

Hideo Kojima rocked the internet with the reveal of Death Stranding trailer at The Game Awards...

by   /   Dec 15, 2016
Video Game Remasters

Untold Stories of Video Game Remasters – the Good, Bad, and Ugly

In today’s video, we discuss something subjective – are video game remasters good or bad? And...

by   /   Sep 9, 2016
Video Game Villains

Top 10 Invincible Video Game Villains Who Just Won’t Die, No Matter What

We all are accustomed with video game villains and the story usually concludes with the fall of...

by   /   Aug 18, 2016
Load More