New Need for Speed Title for 2013 Confirmed by EA

By   /   3 years ago

Earlier this week publisher EA confirmed that 2013 will indeed see to the release of a new Need for Speed title.

The firm noted that Criterion’s Need for Speed: Most Wanted reboot was highly successful and hence what better way to start a new year than by releasing something that provides an experience even greater than the reboot.

EA is seemingly taking a page out of Activision’s book with their Need for Speed franchise. Similar to how Activision has two of their studios come up with alternate Call of Duty titles, Ghost Studios will be taking up the 2013 Need for Speed slot.

Criterion is still EA’s lead developer on the racing series, but this year their supporting studio Ghost will take up the gauntlet. The studio resides in Gothenburg and is headed by former DICE employee Marcus Nilsson.

“I’ll bring a lot of DICE attitude to game development,” Nilsson commented. “DICE also have a culture where everyone can say what they think and have opinions, I want to have that here as well. But we’ll be our own; we will build Ghost and make games of high quality in our own way.”

A release timeline was hinted to be after summers. The window also suggests that this year’s Need for Speed title will be on the next-generation consoles, which are speculated to be announced in the next couple of months.

[via SeekingAlpha]

2TB Green Seagate Game Drive for Xbox One

At Amazon
$20.25 Off, now for just $99.74

Buy Now
  • EA2ndGen

    2011 Chevrolet Volt “DLC”
    1992 Lancia Delta HF Integrale “DLC”
    2012 McLaren P1 “DLC”
    2010 Mercedes-Benz SLK 55 AMG “DLC”

  • EA2ndGen

    Cars to appear to NFS 2013!

    2011 Alfa Romeo 4c Concept
    1970 AMC Javelin
    2010 Aston Martin V12 Vantage
    2012 Aston Martin Virage
    2011 Audi A1 Clubsport Quattro
    2012 Audi R8 GT
    2010 Audi S4
    2011 Audi TT RS
    2011 Bentley Continental GT
    2010 BMW M3 (E92)
    2008 BMW M5 (E60)
    2012 BMW M5 (F12)
    2013 BMW M6 (F13)
    2011 BMW Z4 Sdrive35is
    2010 Bugatti Veyron Supersport
    1987 Buick GNX
    2009 Cadillac CTS-V
    1967 Chevrolet Camaro SS
    2012 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 Convertible
    1970 Chevrolet Chevelle SS
    1967 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray 427
    2014 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray
    2008 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1
    1970 Chevrolet Mont Carlo
    2012 Chrysler 300 SRT8
    1982 Delorean DMC-12
    1970 Dodge Challenger R/T
    2012 Dodge Challenger SRT-8 392
    1969 Dodge Charger R/T
    2012 Dodge Charger SRT-8 Superbee
    2010 Ferrari 458 Italia (Xbox 360 Exclusive)
    2002 Ferrari Enzo (Xbox 360 Exclusive)
    2013 Ferrari F12 Berlinetta (Xbox 360 Exclusive)
    2013 Ford Focus ST
    2006 Ford GT
    2013 Ford Mustang Boss 302
    1986 Ford RS200 Evolution
    2012 Gumpert Apollo Enraged
    2012 Hennessey Venom GT
    2009 Infiniti G37
    2012 Jaguar XKRS
    2012 Koenigsegg Agera R Geneva
    2012 Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4 J
    2012 Lamborghini Gallardo 570-4 Super Trofeo
    1984 Lamborghini Jalpa
    2011 Lamborghini Murcielago LP750-4 Edo
    2011 Lexus LFA
    2012 Lotus Elise S
    2011 Lotus Evora S
    2012 Maserati Granturismo MC Stradale
    2010 Mazdaspeed 3
    2011 Mazda RX-8 R3
    2013 McLaren MP4-12C
    2012 Mercedes-Benz CLS 63 AMG
    2013 Mercedes-Benz SL65 AMG
    2011 Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren Edition
    2014 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Black Series
    1970 Mercury Cougar Eliminator
    2010 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X
    2013 Nissan 370Z
    2013 Nissan GT-R R35
    1997 Nissan Skyline R33 GT-R
    2013 Nissan Tiida (Hatchback)
    2010 Noble M600
    2012 Pagani Huayra
    1970 Plymouth Hemi Cuda
    1978 Pontiac Firebird Trans AM
    2006 Pontiac GTO
    2012 Porsche 911 Carrera S
    2014 Porsche 918 Spyder
    2013 Porsche Boxster S
    2012 Porsche Cayman R
    2012 Renault Megane RS
    2012 Scion TC
    2003 Seat Leon Cupra R
    1967 Shelby GT500
    2012 Shelby GT500 Super Snake
    2013 SRT Viper GTS
    1999 Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS
    2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
    2009 Tesla Roadster
    1986 Toyota Corolla GT-S AE86
    1999 Toyota Supra
    2010 Volkswagen Golf GTI R
    2009 Volkswagen Scirocco R